Every Record I Own – D is for Ron Davies – Silent Song Through the Land

Ron Davies ‎– Silent Song Through The Land

R-2229021-1271095279 This was the best 33p I ever spent! Bought as 3 for £1 with no idea what I was buying. It was in great condition and recorded in 1970 so it was worth a go. This was one of the goodies (the others were a safe bet Woodie Guthrie and a record by Meal Ticket I haven’t listened to yet)
Track one, side one starts off with some very lovely bluesy slide guitar then goes into It Aint Easy, which it turns out was written by Ron Davies! That was a surprise! The rest of the album is incredibly varied, with more Bowie to be found in the title track (the rif from Andy Warhol is so similar). Ron Davies has a bit of a Dylanny hoover voice sometimes which is my only criticism. There is delicate finger picking, gospel backing vocals, some really sweet harmonies with his sister and like all good albums it resolves beautifully. The order of the tracks has been really well thought out.
I am one happy happy bunny.

A&M Records ‎– AMLS 993
Vinyl, LP, Album
  • A1 It Ain’t Easy 2:29
  • A2 What Life Must Be Like For Some 2:28
  • A3 Change 2:51
  • A4 The Clown 4:12
  • B1 Silent Song Through The Land 2:33
  • B2 Yesterday Is All I Want 2:47
  • B3 Open Road, The Open Sky 2:55
  • B4 Lover And The Loved 6:05